Estd. : 1881
City College
A Unit of Brahmo Samaj Education Society
NAAC Accredited Degree College. Affiliated to University of Calcutta
Calcutta University

Administration - Management

City College is a unit of Brahmo Samaj Education Society (BSES), a society constituted by the Sadharan Brahmo Samaj, Kolkata. The Sadharan Brahmo Samaj was formed in a public meeting of Brahmos held in the Town Hall of Calcutta on 15th May 1878, 2nd Jaishta 1284 of the Bengali Calendar. A letter from the venerable Maharshi Devendranath Tagore communicating his blessings and prayer for the success of the new Samaj was read in the meeting. At the time of its foundation the Sadharan Brahmo Samaj was headed by three men universally esteemed in Brahmo society for their high moral character. They were Ananda Mohan Bose, Shibchandra Deb and Umeshchandra Datta. Of those three Ananda Mohan Bose was the youngest, scarcely more than 31 years at the time, yet he was placed at the head of affairs. Thus the Sadharan Brahmo Samaj was launched into existence with these three distinguished men as its leaders.

The administrative powers are mainly vested on “Governing Body” constituting of members nominated by the BSES, the teacher administrators of the College and the representatives of the teachers, the non-teaching staff and the students. The Teacher-in-Charge is the Secretary of the Governing Body.

The members of the Governing Body

Chairman : Sri Premomoy Das
Secretary : Dr. Sital Prasad Chattopadhyay
Members :
  1. Sri L. N. Roy
  2. Sri Samir Das
  3. Sri Subrata Dutta
  4. Sri Bijan Chanda
  5. Sri Rahul Basu
  6. Sri Biswajit Roy
  7. Sri Dhritabrata Bose
  8. Dr. Ketaki Goswami Bagchi
  9. Smt. Rebecca Rakshit
Ex-officio Members :
  1. Principal, Rammohan College
  2. Principal, Ananda Mohan College
Teachers’ Representatives :
  1. Dr. Tirthankar Mukherjee
  2. Dr. Tapan Kumar Ghosh
On Invitation :
  1. Prof. Sisir Ranjan Bhattacharya, Vice-Principal
  2. Prof. Sudarsan Ghosh, Bursar
  3. Two Representatives of Non-Teaching Staff Members
    • Sri Biswanath Das
    • Sri Pulak Dey
  4. General Secretary, Students’ Union
The Administrative Staff
Principal : Dr. Sital Prasad Chattopadhyay
Vice-Principal : Prof. Sisir Ranjan Bhattacharya
Bursar : Prof. Sudarsan Ghosh
Notice & Announcements

Important Links

Alumni Registration
The alumni of City College are earnestly requested to fill-in the on-line Registration Form and send us.

The Sadharan
Brahmo Samaj
Open Source
e-journal of India
Community College
of City College
e-journal consortium
& Publication
Fast Facts
Students' Corner
Copyright © 2014, City College. All rights reserved.
102/1, Raja Rammohan Sarani , Kolkata - 700 009. India.
Powered by :
Suryashakti Infotech Pvt. Ltd.