Estd. : 1881
City College
A Unit of Brahmo Samaj Education Society
NAAC Accredited Degree College. Affiliated to University of Calcutta
Calcutta University

Department - Physics

The Department of Physics was established in the year 1939. This Department is one of the oldest science departments of the college. The honours course in physics was introduced in 1947. The department can boast of some very eminent personalities in the field of physics who taught in this department. They are Prof. J.R. Sen, Dr. M.M. Ghosh, Prof. C.R. Dasgupta, Dr. P.K. Sen is just to mention a few. Physics is taught at the undergraduate (UG) level in this college.

There are two UG courses viz., Honours Course and General Course ; both are of three years duration. There are eight laboratory rooms in the department of Physics and an air-conditioned computer laboratory. About 600 sq metres of laboratory space is distributed over Honours and General Course and computer laboratories. The department is located on the ground floor of the college building. Laboratories are well equipped and the department is conducting B.Sc. (Honours and General ) practical examination as a Calcutta University centre for more than 35 years at a stretch.

There is a Departmental Committee that is functioning very effectively for more than eighteen years. It meets regularly to discuss the academic issues related to examinations, laboratories, distribution of syllabus, admission etc. The committee forms a few sub committees to help the Department in the work related to examinations and class tests, syllabus and routine, seminar library, laboratory etc. The Governing Body of the college assigns the responsibility of Laboratory-in-charge to a teacher who looks after the laboratory related matter.

There is a departmental library , in addition to the central library of the college , which caters to the need of its Honours students. This library contains more than 1000 books. These books are a good mix of text and reference books.

The Department organises seminars and workshops and also encourages its students to participate in seminars and workshops organized by other institutions. The teachers participate in these activities in national and international level with some of them as resource persons and member of Indian delegation.

A number of teachers are engaged in research activities in collaboration with eminent universities and research institutions and contribute to the peer reviewed journals.

List of Faculties

Sl. No. Name Designation Specialization E-mail Contact
1. Dr. (Smt.) Mitali Middya
(Head of the Department)
Associate Professor Nuclear Physics 9830728748
2. Dr. (Smt.) Mita Mondal Associate Professor Electronics 8902231709
3. Dr. (Smt.) Samapti Pal Associate Professor Solid State Physics --
4. Dr. Kausik Mukhopadhyay Assistant Professor Solid State Physics --
5. Dr. Anshuman Nandy Assistant Professor Materials Science --
6. Dr. Somdeb Chakraborty Assistant Professor High Energy Physics --
7. Sri kalyan Samajpati Laboratory Instructor Radio Physics and Electronics 9831231718
8. Smt. Debasmita Samanta Guest Teacher Condensed Matter Physics 7278455986
9. Smt. Devdali Banerjee Guest Teacher Nuclear Physics 8013093247
10. Sri Tapan Kr. Sasmal Guest Teacher Astrophysics 9804940188
Notice & Announcements

Important Links

Alumni Registration
The alumni of City College are earnestly requested to fill-in the on-line Registration Form and send us.

The Sadharan
Brahmo Samaj
Open Source
e-journal of India
Community College
of City College
e-journal consortium
& Publication
Fast Facts
Students' Corner
Copyright © 2014, City College. All rights reserved.
102/1, Raja Rammohan Sarani , Kolkata - 700 009. India.
Powered by :
Suryashakti Infotech Pvt. Ltd.